Be The Hope

I love this time of year.  I spent most of my day baking (something I only do the days preceding a family birthday or Christmas).  I made mince pies, and cake for our trifle.  I enjoy the mild panic that happens in the week leading up to Christmas Eve.  I wrote at least three lists only one of which I can find.  I went to the same store three consecutive days, each time thinking I had it all… and I repainted our living room floor.  We still have yet to get a tree… that is tomorrow’s job.  I love the lights, the candles, the food, the drinks and the gatherings that this time of year brings… it also brings the hope of what is to come.

This year was difficult… one of the worst things that could have happened, did… but it is time to be reborn in the new year, to look towards the future… to hope, to dream, to live… Finding ways to make the world, your world, a better place…

Be that hope, be that person who stands up while others stand by, be the voice of reason, the voice of compassion, and the voice of justice… this time of year should remind us all what life should really be about… love, acceptance, caring, giving, and kindness… We open our home to friends and family during this season because  we are all connected to one another and only through nurturing those connections can we make the world a better place… We are all connected, all part of one world family…

I carry with me those I still hold dear.  I choose my jewelry, table cloths, perfume, and clothes to keep those who are not with me close by… I think of my friend, my mother-in-law, and my grandmother… all strong women who continue to give me hope, who spur me on to stand up, speak out, and throw that can of tuna with all my might at any injustice that crosses my path… they also urge me to embrace life with everything I have… that long hard hug that never lets go…  I honor those women by striving to be the hope…

One thought on “Be The Hope

Leave a Reply

