What do you say?

To call someone out… or let them go on spreading hate… when is it alright to let something go?  When do you stop and say ‘You are way out of line’? I have been thinking about this issue for a while, but much more so in the past days…

My dad went out to lunch with an old friend of his.  My dad’s friend is a conservative republican and they do not agree politically but my father does not like to argue about politics. So, often just listens as his friend talks.  But, at lunch the other day his friend told him about how our president took down all the American flags inside the White House and put down Muslim carpets…. because ‘you know’… all my dad said was, ‘really?’.  My dad is a good man, with a kind heart and he didn’t want to argue with his long time friend.  I totally get it.  But, where do we draw the line? Do we sit by quietly when they say something that isn’t true?

When someone makes a statement that is so outrageous I often laugh and say something like ‘You can’t really believe that?’, or ‘You know that isn’t really true?’… I am not talking about religion, I am talking about politics, racism, bigotry, and propaganda that circulates around and around until people think they are facts.  But, on-line, with people you know, or members of your family… do you call out people who say completely offensive things? I have un-friended or hidden more than a few acquaintances for crazy offensive political posts and I try to stay away from posting propaganda myself (although I occasionally ‘like’ things that fall in line with my opinions)… I am not saying everyone has to have the same opinion… I am saying that calling others names like ‘idiot’ or ‘devils’ and believing outrageous things just because you see them in print does nothing but spread hate… it does not solve problems and in the long run, it just makes you look stupid…

I have not come up with a solution… but I will probably continue to say ‘Really?  Did you just say THAT?’… and then sit in silence… polite suggestions are welcome  😉

 

One thought on “What do you say?

  1. I totally agree. I do that all the time. I used to get my nails done by a nice lady who used to tell me her political views and they were not mine so I would listen and not make a comment. What else could I do? I didn’t encourage the conversation and I didn’t want to argue. Then one day she leaned in and said, “do you know Obama is a Muslim and he’s going to destroy the US?” I simply stopped getting my nails done. I couldn’t take it anymore. I wish I could have said something but it really wouldn’t have mattered. She believed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

