Lessons Learned… on turning 50

Fifty is a gift.  This last year and a half has been one of the most difficult times in my life… I went through something that was a shock, a heartbreak and agony.  Sometimes I was in the midst of it all and sometimes I had to step away for my own sanity. But towards the end I was there.  The people closest to me held me up, kept me strong, listened to me cry, rode with me, and shared a bottle or two of wine… So, as I sat around a patio table on my birthday I was asked if I had any words of wisdom… this group didn’t need them – they were all wise already… but these are my lessons…

No matter how wonderful and amazing your husband is, no matter how well you get along or how well he listens, no matter that he supports you, makes you laugh, loves you, does laundry and dishes, cooks or takes care of the children (my husband did and still does all of that and more)… There is nothing like a girlfriend…

Wear clothes that make you feel happy and good about yourself…

Eat healthy…

Love your body…

Dance around naked…

No one is perfect-give yourself and others a break…

Sing as loud and as often as you like…

Believe in magic…

Keep learning – everyone has a lesson to teach…

Forgive others easily and move on…

Don’t act your age…

Speak out against injustice in this world…

If you need something, ask for it…

It is okay if the house isn’t clean…people are coming over to see you, not your house…

Cherish what your body can do and do it…

Hug people a lot…

Treat yourself and those around you…

When you drink, make a toast…

Talk about politics and religion – but be kind – only through discussion can we evolve…

Recognize when a gift enters your world…

Eat the damn cake…

Lean on friends – they want you to…

Help to change the world…

Be generous…

Use the ‘good stuff’…

Dance like you are putting on a show…

Be grateful…

Celebrate the success of others as if it were your own…

We are all part of the same family…

Live in this moment…

and always… Remember to Look for the Joy…

Each woman who helped me celebrate my 50th has played a special role over the years… they each are a gift and have enriched my life is so many ways… at 50 I am grateful and ready to begin the next chapter…

Leave a Reply

