Embracing Grey

I am going grey… it all started almost two years ago when I decided that coloring my hair every three weeks was getting old, no pun intended.  I was not completely committed to the outcome, but was very curious about what I would discover.  I discovered that I am proud of my grey.  I wear it like a badge… I have had a life… I am wiser than I once was… I may be old enough to be your mother… I have opinions that I am not afraid to share… I am lucky to be alive and old enough to be going grey… Going grey means I am getting older and that is something to be grateful for… I am.

Going grey does not mean that I am giving up.  I continue to push myself physically, professionally, and mentally.  I consider myself young… When they talk about the youth of America, I think they are talking about me.

Beginning to look older does not mean that I feel older, dress older, act older, or look at the world with anything but hope and gratitude.  Beginning to look older means I am not afraid of the future, I am not fighting my way through life… I am enjoying it, savoring it, and relishing the moments as I move through my days. When we constantly strive to look 20 or 30-something, we are negating the value of our years… I am not saying you shouldn’t look your best, or you should ‘let yourself go’… I am saying be proud of your years and embrace the grey…

4 thoughts on “Embracing Grey

  1. I too, am going grey; I had extremely dark hair and first started noticing the greys after I’d had dreds, when I was in my 20’s. I used to dye it my natural colour. Then, it just didn’t hold any more so after three washes, the greys came back! I decided to go the opposite way to you, in a fashion after my mother, and go lighter. This was simply because I felt that at 32 I was looking more like 45 and it just didn’t sit with my image of myself but I’m not embarrassed about going grey and if people ask why I went lighter, I tell them! 🙂

    Like

    1. Good for you! Do what makes you happy… I am going to be celebrating my 50th birthday this summer and at 48 decided to see what was under my years of color, highlights, and do-it-yourself dye jobs… we each have our own path! Enjoy yours! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you! when I took those dreds out, I was shocked by the glittering threads of silver I’d apparently sprouted but I didn’t mind them and didn’t immediately dye it; like you, I think it’s important to be proud of one’s age! I can’t believe, if the photographs on your blog are you, that you’re almost 50; you don’t look it and perhaps that’s because you maintain a “youthful” spirit?! Either way, I’m envious!

        Like

Leave a Reply

