It’s Not That Hard…on being vegan part 2

It really isn’t difficult…being vegan, that is…. One friend commented about my way of eating and referred to it as ‘extreme’… She was not being offensive and I didn’t take it as an insult or a challenge, in fact, I think she respects how I eat and views my food choices as very healthy…  But it does seem extreme to the majority of Americans for someone to cut out all animal products from their diet (and life).  It is counter to our mainstream culture. You never realize how much advertising there is for meat, chicken, eggs and dairy foods in magazines and on t.v. until you start eating plant-based foods.  Those number of those adds are only rivaled by the number of drug adds… There might be a connection….

So, back to the ease of being vegan.  You can ask my 16 year old son, who is only vegan at home… we eat very delicious food! He brings vegan sandwiches in his lunch because that is what I make him… He has never once complained about his sandwiches but he prefers my hummus, cucumber, tofu and avocado sandwiches to PB&J any day!

We eat well, none of us is waisting away, we all have plenty of energy (my husband rode his bike 62 miles yesterday), my fingernails are strong and we don’t take any medication… It is not about losing weight for us. It is about choosing not to eat or harm animals. I will admit that there are three ‘cage-free’ eggs in my fridge (from before Christmas) and every once in a while I buy cheese that has been certified as coming from a humane farm for my non-vegan son.  If I go to a party, I try my best but sometimes I will have a birthday cake or something cooked with milk r sautéed in butter… Remember, I try not to be crazy about it.

I eat oatmeal with raisins, nuts and coconut almost every morning… But for special days I might make this delicious vegan quiche.  Nut butter on toast with banana slices can be a yummy breakfast, too. The trick is to think outside of the box and Google recipes.  I read labels and buy organic, non-GMO tofu… I spend most of my time shopping in the produce and health-food sections.

Being vegan is easy now because there are so many options.  You can, if you want, get plant-based ‘meats and cheeses’, a variety of plant-based milk, sour cream, mayonnaise, and egg substitutes.  In this day and age there really is no excuse not to eat at least some of your meals without animal products.

In the long run it is better for your health, the animals and our planet… And it really isn’t that hard…. You might argue that you really like bacon… My response to that is ‘Get over it’ – or save it for a special occasion…

*if you need more info on recipes, just ask

One thought on “It’s Not That Hard…on being vegan part 2

Leave a Reply

