This Moment

Life is not a guarantee. Last Saturday I ran into a local convenience store and bought five lottery tickets for the biggest Powerball jackpot of all time (until Wednesday).  It was about 6pm so it would be two hours before we knew if we had a winning ticket.  I was chatty with the store clerk and the woman in front of me who was also buying tickets.  As we left the store I wished the woman good luck in winning the lottery… She said, ‘I want whatever she is on’.  Very funny.  She doesn’t know me.  I am on ‘IT’ most of the time.  I like to appreciate each moment and at that moment I was in the running to become a multi-millionaire. If you bought a ticket, you were too.

My husband and I went out to dinner and spent the next hour and a half talking about what we would do if we won the money.  It was so much fun! It was a great way to spend $10 and so worth it for almost two hours of excitement and the happy game of ‘what if’.  I loved hearing about the building project my husband wanted to do to help families in need, and how he would revive our downtown, travel and finish off our house!  It really was a lovely evening, even when we found out that we didn’t have the winning ticket.

When three people won the 1.6 billion dollar jackpot on Wednesday I was so excited for them.  I hope that they will be able to enjoy the rest of their ride through life and that they find a way to make the lives of the people they touch, better.  What an adventure for them!

Living in the moment does not mean you don’t dream, or plan, or hope… it just means you take where you are at that moment and appreciate it. Find something good to focus on.  I know that there are times when the moment is so bad there may be nothing you can find to bring you joy… remember that moments don’t last forever, life changes… also remember that if you can think about someone else you may be able to find a way to feel joy for them and their journey through life.  Right now, take this moment and find something about it that brings you peace and joy… Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

