Hold On To The Magic

I love magic! Not the magic you see up on stage or on a street corner… Although that is pretty cool.  I love the kind of magic we see, live and create in our every day lives…  You might not see it, or call it magic, but I do.  It is really about keeping that sense of wonder you had as a child and appreciating the little things that happen every day.

There isn’t a day that goes by when I don’t appreciate the magic of turning on the shower, waiting a few minutes and having hot water.  The moment of stepping into that shower is magical to me!  The way cell phones work is magical and don’t get me started on Smart Phones (I am still waiting for Santa to bring me mine)… Picking up a little flat piece of plastic and talking to someone on the other side of the world – now that is real magic! Only the sci-fi writers of Star Trek thought of it 50 years ago!

It was very important to me as a mother to try and create magical moments for my children.  I tried to help them see the things around through that wonder and amazement.  I don’t know if I was successful or if it made any difference in their memories of childhood ~ but it definitely made me happy.  All too often I worry about how soon children lose the innocence of childhood, forget that there is magic around us and stop looking at the world with wonder.

But magic comes in all shapes and sizes… Santa, the Tooth Fairy, fireworks, hot water, television, Christmas lights, cars, airplanes, video chatting, winning the lottery, hugs, and modern medicine… When you think about the world with wonder you can see the magic.  All you have to do is look.

Leave a Reply

