Happy Holidays, Mr. Trump…

Although I am not a republican, I watched the republican debate on the edge of my seat.  I looked for someone that I might feel ok with, if they became the next president.  There was one that I felt might treat those people living and working in our country without proper papers with compassion and fairness.  There was one who I felt would help fund education and was sympathetic towards the high price of college.  One seemed to be on the verge of sleep. And then there was Trump.

I am really not sure how he is even a serious contender.  He spouts off slams at anyone and everyone who has a different opinion.  He claims that a small loan from his father ( $1,000,000 ) helped him get his financial start.  He badmouths and dehumanizes those who are here without having gone through the proper channels.  And he now wants to create an America where everyone says Merry Christmas.  Really, Merry Christmas?

The last time I checked, Mr. Trump, my family was American.  My grandparents on my father’s side and my great-grandparents on my mother’s side all came from Eastern Europe to escape.  They came to escape religious persecution.  They became Americans.  American Jews.  And although I am not religious, I consider myself Jewish.  Are you telling me that MY country only recognizes YOUR religious beliefs?  This is why, Mr. Trump, we do not pray in school.  It is not our government’s right to decide which god should be prayed to or respected in school.  That job should be left to families.  And in America there are a wide variety of beliefs.  In my class right now I have Atheists, Jehovah Witnesses, church going Christians and more.  American Atheists are Americans too.  Do they need to say Merry Christmas because that is what someone else wants to hear?  That is not what our country is all about.  If a child wants to worship God at school then they should go to a private religious school.  That is their right.

So when I say ‘Happy Holidays’ there should not be one person offended.  I am validating that you may celebrate something different than I do.  You may celebrate Kwanza, Hanukkah, New Year’s Eve, Winter Solstice, Boxing Day, Ramadan, or just the end of a busy week.  I am hoping that you enjoy whatever it is that you celebrate.  You can choose to be offended by that… That IS your choice… it is a free country after all…

Leave a Reply

