The Confederate Flag

I am all about freedom and I believe n the right to express yourself. As a responsible citizen and someone who cares about people I don’t like to intentionally hurt others or make them feel bad. Maybe that is just me. But if I know that what I am doing or saying offends someone I will rethink my actions or comments because I care.

When I was in my teens and early twenties the confederate flag made me think of someone who was rebellious, southerners and the Dukes of Hazzard… As I’ve grown and thought more deeply, it means something very different and much more concerning.  To me it now means bigotry, anti-American, anti-Semitic, anti-LGBT, racist, and pro white supremacy.  When I see it I think about lynchngs, the KKK, slavery, and hatred.

It makes me fearful and worried about my safety and the safety of my fellow citizens…. Because it is a symbol of hatred…. If that is how you want your fellow Americans to feel then I guess you should keep flying it… If not, no matter what it means to you, please don’t.

Leave a Reply

